Award Laureates 2015

Celebrating Youth Leadership
Innovation. Transformation. Opportunity.

The CWY Youth Leadership Awards recognize the outstanding involvement of young CWY alumni in transforming communities, through projects and initiatives that directly contribute to the achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The Guy Bordeleau Awards were created in remembrance of a former CWY Deputy Director, and are paid by the memorial fund in his name. The iLead award recognizes an alum over the age of 35, who continues community involvement in his/her adult life.

On Thursday, June 11, 2015, Canada World Youth (CWY) recognized the achievements of four past participants at its third annual Youth Leadership Awards. Over 140 people attended the ceremony at Toronto’s The Fifth Social Club hosted by CWY Alumnus and 2014 Juno Award Winner George Leach. The four laureates were selected by jury, and were present to receive their awards from Ms. Rita S. Karakas, President & CEO. “Every candidate makes an incredible contribution to the community. This event was specifically designed to thank them our way, not only for the leadership they have undertaken in various projects, but also for their support and contribution to create more just, harmonious, and sustainable societies,” stated Ms. Karakas.

The 2015 Laureates are:

  • Outstanding Aboriginal Alumni Award: Karista Olson (24), Gitxsan First Nation, BC. An on-reserve volunteer, facilitating youth education and health programs in her home community.
  • Guy Bordeleau Outstanding Overseas Youth Alumni Award: Nelly Mbugua (28), Nariboi, Kenya. Member of the Lari Women for Integrated Development, an organization that works to empower grassroots women in rural Kenya.
  • Guy Bordeleau Outstanding Canadian Youth Alumni Award: Ivan Escobar (26), Montreal, QC. Worked on several reconciliation projects between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth in Canada, reaching over 250 youth in the past three years.
  • iLead Award: Karl Flecker (55), Kingston, ON. Launched A Cycle for Change, a women’s health/education & economic sustainability project in Rayagada, India.


From left to right: Karl Flecker, George Leach, Nelly Mbugua, Priscilla Sabbas, Karista Olson,
Rita S. Karakas, Ivan Escobar

See the laureates from the past years

Cet article est également disponible en FR.